Bookmarks – Create, View, Edit, and Delete.

As in a paper Bible, a bookmark will help you return to a verse of interest. You will need to be signed-in to the app to use Bookmarking

CREATING A BOOKMARK

  1. As you are reading a Bible verse, click on the verse(s) you want to Bookmark.
  2. A drop down menu will appear. Click the icon that looks like a bookmark.
  3. On the next panel DO NOT choose a color, choose Bookmark to open a panel of 3 options.
  4. Select a color (optional) which displays like a Highlight in your Bible and a color code in your Bookmark list.
  5. Enter a Title to help you remember why you bookmarked the verse.
  6. Enter a Label to categorize the bookmark. Note: When you type the first letter of a label, you may then choose from a list of similar existing labels. Just continue typing if you are creating a new label.
  7. Then click the SAVE button. The bookmark will be saved and you will return to the Bible verse.

VIEWING A BOOKMARK

  • On the web, one way to see your list of Bookmarks is to click on the Ribbon icon on the left hand reading pane.
  • Bookmarks are always listed from newest (on top) to oldest (at the bottom).
  • For each bookmark in the list you always see the Verse, Version, and date last modified.
  • For some bookmarks in the list, you will see the optional color, Title, and Label if they were entered.
  • If you have used Labels, you can click on LABELS at the top and choose the Label subset you want to view.
  • Click on a bookmark to jump to the bookmarked verse in the specified version.

EDITING A BOOKMARK

To edit a bookmark go to the list of your bookmarks and click on the bookmark you wish to edit. A popup will appear on the bar above giving you two options. One is an “X” to delete it or the other shows “Selected” to edit the bookmark. Select the word “Selected” to make any changes.

DELETING A BOOKMARK

To delete a bookmark go to the list of your bookmarks and click on the bookmark you wish to delete. A popup will appear on the bar above giving you two options. One is an “X” to delete it. Click on the “X”.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

A bookmark stores the verse reference as well as the Bible version in which you create it. If you select a bookmark from the list, it will take you to the bookmarked verse in the original version. If that is the not the version you want to read, you can simply change the version by clicking the version code in the upper right.

Using too many different colored Bookmarks will get confusing. Some Bible app veterans use a simple color scheme:

  • Blue for Bookmarks so they know when they encounter a blue verse that it has a bookmark associated with it.
  • Yellow for highlights (the classic highlighter color) and,
  • another color for Notes.

This post is also available in: Português

Comments are closed.